Cheese Profile

How Old Is Cacio di Bosco al Tartufo? Listed Ages Run 90 Days to 12+ Months

Cacio di Bosco al Tartufo is Il Forteto's pasteurized sheep's milk cheese with truffle. See how records list its age from 90 days to 12 months or more, plus uses and pregnancy notes.

Cut wheel and wedge of cheese with dark truffle flecks through an ivory paste - Cacio di Bosco al Tartufo | KnowTheCheese
CACIO DI BOSCO AL TARTUFO QUICK FACTS
OriginTuscany, Italy
MilkPasteurized sheep's milk (Cheese.com also lists cow's milk)
TextureFirm and crumbly
RindListed as edible by one Italian retailer
Aging90 days to 12 months or more, depending on the source
FlavorSweet, nutty sheep's milk with a slightly sour edge and truffle aroma
PregnancyDepends: listed as pasteurized, but neither the NHS nor the CDC names it; confirm on the label

Cacio di Bosco al Tartufo is a sheep's milk cheese from Tuscany with truffle pieces through the paste, made by the Il Forteto cooperative. Most records agree on that and on pasteurized milk, but the age you will see listed runs anywhere from 90 days to 12 months or more.

What Is Cacio di Bosco al Tartufo?

Atalanta's 2021 trade catalog, which carries the cheeses of Il Forteto, calls it a premium pecorino studded with truffles. Cheese.com lists Italy as the country and Tuscany as the region.

The records date the cooperative differently. The catalog says Il Forteto was founded in 1977 by 16 young associates who were students at the time, while the Australian retailer Porkewe dates the farm to the early 1980s.

On size, the catalog calls the cooperative one of the largest producers of Pecorino Toscano, and Porkewe says the farm covers 650 acres run on bio and organic principles and credits the brand with more than 20% of all Tuscan DOP Pecorino. Those figures describe the cooperative rather than make a label claim for the wedge you buy.

Cheese Market, a Sydney wholesaler, says the milk for all Il Forteto cheeses is sourced from local farms in the Mugello area of Tuscany and made into cheese within 24 hours of milking.

In these records, a PDO claim for the truffle cheese rests on one table label. The catalog lists two Pecorino Toscano PDO cheeses from the cooperative and gives the PDO label in its product text only to those two, while its price table names the truffle cheese beside them "Cacio Di Bosco, Truffle Pdo".

Cheese.com's header line and the first sentence of its description name cow's and sheep's milk, while its flavor sentence, the catalog, Cheese Market, Cheesy Place and the Florence retailer Arcibold name sheep's milk alone.

How Old Is It, and Which Age Should You Trust?

The age printed on the wedge you buy is the one to trust. Age is the biggest gap between the records, and the table shows what each one lists.

Age, wheel size and truffle amount as each source lists Il Forteto's Cacio di Bosco
Source Age Wheel Truffle
Atalanta catalog (2021) 6 months in the product text, 4 to 6 months in the price table About 4 lb Studded with truffles, no amount given
Arcibold (Florence retailer) 90 days About 1.8 kg 0.5% bianchetto truffle preparation
Cheese Market (Sydney wholesaler) Matured, no figure About 2 kg Shaved truffle throughout
Cheesy Place (online retailer) 12 months or more Not stated Large dark flecks, no amount given
Woolworths (Australian supermarket) Not stated Not stated At least 0.3% truffle

Arcibold's 90 days is the shortest age and the only one from an Italian seller, and Cheesy Place's 12 months or more is the longest.

To place those figures, use Il Forteto's plain pecorinos as a yardstick: the catalog lists Pecorino Toscano at 1 month, Pecorino Toscano Stagionato at 4 months and Pecorino Toscano Oro Antico at 8 months. It says the 4-month cheese keeps the milky character of a fresh pecorino with the stronger flavor of aged ones.

On that scale, Cacio di Bosco's 6 months in the catalog text, or 4 to 6 months in its table, sits at or above the 4-month Stagionato and below the 8-month Oro Antico, while Arcibold's 90 days is younger than the Stagionato.

The catalog credits Cacio di Bosco's long maturation with balancing sweet sheep's milk against the truffle aroma. If that balance is what you are buying it for, a 90-day wedge fits the description less well than one aged 6 months.

The catalog's shelf life of 150 days is a separate column from age, and it does not follow age. The same table gives Boschetto 180 days of shelf life at 60 days of age, and the 4-month Stagionato 150 days.

For how long your cut wedge keeps, check its label or ask the seller.

NOTE

The age on the package settles which record applies. The figures run from 90 days to 12 months or more, and the catalog ties the balance of sweet milk and truffle to a long maturation.

What the Truffle Percentages on the Label Mean

Arcibold's ingredient line lists a bianchetto truffle preparation (Tuber borchii, water, salt and aroma) at 0.5%. That figure is the whole preparation, so it covers more than truffle alone.

Woolworths lists truffle at a minimum of 0.3% in its ingredients, without naming the species. Set side by side, the two labels are not like for like: Arcibold counts a preparation that includes water, salt and aroma, while Woolworths gives a minimum for truffle, so the 0.2-point gap does not show that one cheese carries more truffle.

In the 270 g wedge Arcibold lists for a cut, 0.5% comes to about 1.4 g of the preparation, and the bianchetto is only part of that.

Firm aged pecorino with truffle pieces distributed through the paste | KnowTheCheese
Illustration of a firm aged cheese with dark truffle pieces through the paste.

The pieces are described as differently as the amounts: Cheese.com writes of tiny dark specks and Cheesy Place of large flecks. The species is named differently too: the Australian retailer Porkewe writes of fresh black truffle, where Arcibold's label names bianchetto.

Arcibold lists the rind as edible.

The catalog's entry for La Rustichella, another producer's truffle pecorino, shows why timing matters. Its truffle goes in only once the cheese is already semi-aged, which the catalog says lets the cheese develop its own flavor first, unlike most truffled cheeses.

How Does Cacio di Bosco Differ from Il Forteto's Boschetto?

Il Forteto also sells Boschetto with Truffle, and the catalog treats it as a separate cheese. The comparison below uses the catalog's own descriptions of both.

Il Forteto's two truffle cheeses in the Atalanta catalog
AttributeCacio di BoscoBoschetto with Truffle
Age6 months (product text)2 months (product text)
WheelAbout 4 lbAbout 1.5 lb
Described asSlightly sour and crumbly, firm enough to grateSweet, soft and mild
TruffleStudded with trufflesShavings of bianchetto truffle, from Umbria per the catalog

The truffle is not what separates the two in these records: Arcibold's label for Cacio di Bosco names bianchetto, the truffle the catalog names for Boschetto. The differences the catalog documents are age, wheel size and texture.

Texture decides which one you grate. For grating over pasta, risotto or pizza, the catalog points to Cacio di Bosco, because it calls only that cheese firm enough to grate, and it describes Boschetto as soft, mild and sweet.

On milk the records split: Cheese.com lists Boschetto with cow's and sheep's milk and a creamy texture, while the catalog gives sheep's milk for both cheeses.

Soft smooth truffle cheese beside a firm crumbly one with dark truffle flecks - Cacio di Bosco al Tartufo | KnowTheCheese
Illustration of a soft truffle cheese beside a firm, crumbly one.

What Does Cacio di Bosco al Tartufo Taste Like?

The catalog and Cheese.com describe sweet, nutty sheep's milk with a slightly sour edge, and Arcibold calls it sweet but savory. The sources split on how loud the truffle is, and the matrix sets the views side by side.

Flavor and texture as each source describes them
TraitWhat it saysSource
TruffleOver-the-top in flavorAtalanta catalog
TruffleA strong aroma of truffleCheese.com
TruffleA strong, earthy taste and aroma of the trufflesCheesy Place
TruffleA true, delicate perfume that complements the cheese rather than dominating itCheese Market
TruffleDeveloped, well-balanced aromas and perfumesArcibold
Sheep's milkSweet and nutty with a slightly sour paste; Cheese.com adds nearly caramelizedAtalanta catalog, Cheese.com
Sheep's milkGrassy and slightly nutty, with an even finish that is not saltyCheese Market
TextureCrumbly and firm; Cheese.com adds smooth and oilyAtalanta catalog, Cheese.com
TextureFirm and slightly flaky but smooth; very firm without being dryCheese Market, Porkewe

On the truffle, the split runs three to two. The catalog, Cheese.com and Cheesy Place call it strong, while Cheese Market and Arcibold call it balanced or delicate.

The two ends of that split come from a trade description and a seller's note: the catalog calls the truffle over-the-top, and Cheese Market's wholesaler tasting note calls it a delicate perfume.

Of the records that give an age, the youngest, Arcibold at 90 days, calls the aromas balanced. The strong wording comes with 6 months in the catalog and 12 months or more at Cheesy Place.

Every record that describes the texture calls the paste firm or compact, though Cheese.com's own entry also calls it crumbly and smooth and oily. For colour, Cheese.com lists ivory, and Arcibold describes a compact paste of pale straw-white.

How Should You Serve Cacio di Bosco al Tartufo?

Grating is the use the catalog and Cheese.com share. The catalog describes a slightly sour, crumbly paste that is firm enough to grate over pasta, risotto or even pizza, and Cheese.com says to grate it over pizza, pastas and risottos.

Grated cheese with dark truffle specks over risotto - Cacio di Bosco al Tartufo | KnowTheCheese
Illustration of grated truffle pecorino over risotto.

Cheese Market calls it a favorite for parties and suggests serving it on a cheese plate.

Slices and pieces of cheese with dark truffle flecks beside bowls of honey and fruit jam - Cacio di Bosco al Tartufo | KnowTheCheese
Illustration of a cheese plate with honey and fruit jam beside the cheese.

Arcibold, the Italian seller, takes a different line: it says the cheese is best eaten on its own, with eggs in a frittata as its one cooking use.

PairingWhy It Works
Honey or fruit jamsCheese Market suggests either one beside the cheese on a plate.
Cacio e pepeCheese Market names it as an indulgent pasta to grate the cheese into.
SaladsCheese Market suggests shaving the cheese into them.
Eggs in a frittataArcibold lists this as the one dish the cheese can accompany.
SlicedCheesy Place calls the firm, smooth, slightly oily cheese good for grating or for enjoying sliced.
Apples, mandarin oranges or a mushroom tartOne customer review on Cheesy Place pairs the cheese with apples or mandarin oranges for dessert and calls it an amazing cheese for a wild mushroom tart.

For wine, Cheese Market names Pinot Noir and medium-bodied Italian reds such as Sangiovese and Barbera, while Cheesy Place names Chardonnay, so no single wine has the support of both sellers.

Is Cacio di Bosco Safe in Pregnancy?

CHECK THE LABEL
The catalog's price table, Cheese.com, Cheesy Place and Arcibold give pasteurized milk, and the NHS and CDC both put pasteurized hard cheese on their safe lists. Neither agency names this cheese and their lists do not settle which group it belongs to, so confirm pasteurization on the label and follow your own doctor's advice.

The catalog's price table, Cheese.com, Cheesy Place and Arcibold all list pasteurized milk. The NHS lists pasteurised or unpasteurised hard cheeses and pasteurised semi-hard cheeses as safe to eat in pregnancy.

The CDC rates hard cheese made with pasteurized milk as a safer choice and soft cheese from unpasteurized milk as riskier. It also says pregnant women are 10 times more likely to get a Listeria infection.

If you are pregnant, the open point is which of those groups this cheese falls in. Cheese.com calls it semi-firm and the catalog calls it firm enough to grate, but neither the NHS nor the CDC names the cheese, so their lists do not settle it.

Where Are the Nutrition Numbers for Cacio di Bosco?

BUYING TIPS
Maker
Il Forteto is the producer the catalog, Cheese.com and the retailers name.
Milk
Look for pasteurized on the package, and for whether it names sheep's milk alone or a cow and sheep blend.
Age
Look for an age in days or months, since the records run from 90 days to 12 months or more.
Truffle
Look for a percentage and for whether the truffle is a preparation with added aroma.
Rind
Look for a statement on whether it is edible, which only Arcibold gives.
Rennet
Arcibold's ingredient line lists rennet without saying what kind, so a vegetarian buyer needs the maker's answer.

Woolworths is the only record with a nutrition table, and it covers the product that supermarket stocks. The values below are per 100 g.

Energy1,880 kJ
Protein24.1 g
Fat38.9 g, of which saturated 24.7 g
Carbohydrate1.6 g
Sodium819 mg

For a 25 g portion, take a quarter of those figures: about 6 g of protein, 9.7 g of fat and 205 mg of sodium.

In kilocalories, the label's 1,880 kJ converts at 4.184 kJ per kilocalorie to about 450 kcal per 100 g, or about 112 kcal in that 25 g portion.

Cheese.com lists a fat content of 55% without saying what it is measured against. Woolworths' 38.9 g per 100 g is 38.9% of the cheese's weight, so the two figures cannot be compared directly.

Which Sizes Can You Buy Cacio di Bosco In?

Whole wheels are listed at three weights: the catalog sells wheels of about 4 lb packed two to a case, Arcibold lists a whole wheel of about 1.8 kg, and Cheese Market's wheel is listed at 2 kg.

Those weights are closer than they look, because 4 lb is about 1.8 kg: the catalog and Arcibold list wheels of the same weight in different units, and Cheese Market's 2 kg is slightly heavier. Unlike the age column, the wheel column in the age table therefore marks no real disagreement.

Whole wheel of pale cheese beside a cut wedge with dark truffle flecks - Cacio di Bosco al Tartufo | KnowTheCheese
Illustration of a whole wheel and a cut wedge, not drawn to scale.

The piece you take home is much smaller. Arcibold lists a wedge of about 270 g, which is about 15% of its 1.8 kg wheel, Cheesy Place sells 250 g, and Porkewe offers 150, 200, 250, 300 and 500 g.

To size your purchase, use the 25 g portion from the label section: a 250 g wedge gives about 10 portions, and Porkewe's smallest cut of 150 g gives 6.

What Can Replace Cacio di Bosco?

The nearest match is another truffle pecorino. The catalog lists two besides Il Forteto's, each different from Cacio di Bosco in ways it states.

If you want slices, Centro Form's Pecorino Truffle Loaf from Sicily is the one the catalog calls perfect for slicing. It is a semi-soft sheep's milk cheese speckled with black truffle and aged 30 days, with a crumbly yet firm texture.

La Rustichella's pecorino from Basilicata, aged 3 months, is the one with the late-added truffle described earlier. Its catalog text calls the milk 100% raw sheep's milk while the price table lists it as pasteurized, so check the package for the milk before you buy it.

Within Il Forteto's own range, Boschetto is the softer option, described as sweet, soft and mild. If you can do without truffle, the same cooperative's Pecorino Toscano Stagionato is a semi-hard 4-month pecorino with a sweet finish and a pleasant texture, per the catalog.

The catalog also sells Pecorino Romano in a 4 oz grated cup.

SOURCES & REFERENCES


1.
Atalanta Corporation and Il Forteto, 2021 Producer
Primary trade source for the cooperative's history, the Pecorino Toscano ages, Cacio di Bosco and Boschetto descriptions, age text, wheel sizes, grating uses, the other truffle pecorinos, and the price table's 4 to 6 months, 150 day shelf life and pasteurized entries.

2.
Arcibold, 2026 Retailer
Italian retailer record used for 90 days of aging, wheel and wedge weights, the ingredient line with the 0.5% bianchetto truffle preparation and rennet, the edible rind, the paste and aroma wording, and the frittata pairing.

3.
Cheese Market Sydney, 2026 Retailer
Wholesaler record used for pasteurised sheep's milk, wheel size, flavor and texture notes, Mugello milk sourcing, and serving and wine suggestions.

4.
Woolworths, 2026 Retailer
Supermarket label used for the ingredient list, the minimum 0.3% truffle statement and the per 100 g nutrition values.

5.
Porkewe, 2026 Retailer
Australian retailer description used for the very firm, not dry texture, the fresh black truffle wording, the cut sizes and the cooperative's farm description.

6.
Cheesy Place, 2026 Retailer
Retailer description used for the 12 months or more age, pasteurized sheep's milk, the large flecks, the strong truffle wording, the 250 g size, the sliced or grated use, the Chardonnay pairing and one customer review's pairings.

7.
Cheese.com, 2026 Cheese Reference
Reference entry used for country, region, maker, the cow and sheep milk header, flavor, texture, colour, the 55% fat figure, tiny truffle specks and grating uses.

8.
Cheese.com, 2026 Cheese Reference
Reference entry used for Boschetto's cow and sheep milk and creamy texture.

9.
NHS, 2026 Gov
Safe list for pasteurised or unpasteurised hard cheeses and pasteurised semi-hard cheeses.

10.
CDC, 2025 Gov
Safer and riskier cheese choices and the 10 times Listeria figure.

It is a sheep's milk cheese from Tuscany, made by the Il Forteto cooperative, with truffle pieces through the paste.

Records differ. The Atalanta catalog says 6 months in its product text and 4 to 6 months in its price table, while the Italian retailer Arcibold lists 90 days and Cheesy Place lists 12 months or more.

Yes. The catalog says the slightly sour, crumbly paste is firm enough to grate over pasta, risotto or even pizza, and Cheese.com names the same dishes.

The catalog's price table, Cheese.com, Cheesy Place and Arcibold list pasteurized milk. Confirm it on the package, because the CDC's safer hard-cheese row and the NHS's semi-hard row both name pasteurized milk.

The sources disagree. The catalog calls the flavor over-the-top, while Cheese Market describes a delicate truffle perfume that does not dominate the cheese.